New Giveaway - Wort Monster Conical Fermeneter!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Extract Brewing > Extract "color" vs specialty grains

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-12-2010, 01:30 AM   #1
gr8shandini
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 51 Times on 39 Posts

Default Extract "color" vs specialty grains

Hey all,

I'm somewhat of a noob here (about 10 batches so far) and I've got a theory that I was wondering if you had any opinions on. I'm thinking that you should always use the lightest extract available to you (DME or "Pilsner" LME) and create the beer you want with the specialty grains.

My thinking goes as follows: If you're not set up for all-grain, you need the extract companies to handle mashing the base malt for you, but so far as I can tell, there's little difference between mashing and steeping the specialty grains. I'm also assuming that certain flavor compounds probably get killed off in the evaporation process that yields the final extract. So in my mind, it makes more sense to add those flavors using the steeping process and hopefully retain more of them during the boil.

I haven't tried anything darker than an Irish Red so far, but by extension, it would make sense to use the "Pilsner" LME even if you're going for a porter. Does that make sense, or am I just wasting money on extra grain and should switch to using the amber/dark products?

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-12-2010, 02:34 AM   #2
Yooper
Frau Admin

Recipes 

Liked 3851 Times on 2813 Posts
Likes Given: 640

Yes, I'd say that is true. Just like with AG brewing, you use a base malt for most of the beer (DME or LME in extract brewing) and then get the color and flavor of the specific beer from the specialty grains.