Kegconnection Complete Starter Kit and More Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Extract Brewing > Cost of Brewing.....Kits vs Bulk ingedients

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-02-2006, 01:56 AM   #1
Onescalerguy
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Default Cost of Brewing.....Kits vs Bulk ingedients

Hello
I'm new to brewing and really want to know how many experienced extract brewers use kits.looking at prices it seems that kit prices aren't that much more expensive than separate ingredients for a similar recipe.Also shipping.Do alot of you buy mail order/internet or buy from brew stores.Kit prices at a dozen or so different online outfits seem very competitive,telling me that these kits aren't a bad way to go.What do you think?
Bill

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-02-2006, 04:55 AM   #2
Exo

Recipes 

Liked 6 Times on 5 Posts

Kits are fine. As you become more experienced and read up here you'll want to make some of the recipes you find here. It's a progression.

Wasp Bitten IPA (a Walker-San clone);Cheesefood's Caramel Creme; Wee Heavy Scottish Ale;
Bottled/Conditioning:
Flyin' Hornet Pale Ale(Mirror Pond clone);Oktoberfest Ale
Drinking:
Boom-Boom Apricot Hefeweisen; Forbidden Ale;Pale-Ass Ale (SNPA Clone); Ol' Man Winter Ale
On-deck:
Dead Guy clone
Planning:
Walker's Espresso Stout; BrewPastor's Bastard Lager
Quote:
But honey, how else am I going to get enough bottles for my next batch? *burp*...*fart*

Old 09-02-2006, 05:40 AM   #3
RichBrewer
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 77 Times on 35 Posts
Likes Given: 67

You can bring the price per brew down by buying ingredients in bulk like hops, grains, and extract. Find some brew buddies or join a local home brew club and you can split your orders. Harvesting your yeast can also be a cost saver.

Cheers,
Rich

Old 09-02-2006, 05:57 AM   #4
Engelramm
Recipes