Old 06-16-2012, 08:24 PM   #1
callback79
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default Coopers kit

Hi,

I'd like to know some opinions about Coopers kits. I'm very new to this game and Coopers kits have a good price in a local store not far from my home. I was reading the instructions and didn't see anything regarding primary/secondary, after further reading, I noticed these kits only need a "primary" fermentation.

Are these kits good for beginners ?

Do you recommend other brands that will give better results for the same low complexity work ? (I mean I don't want to start from grains or other more complex methods, but using kits that needs secondary will be fine)

I can also purchase FestaBrew kits at the same store for about 2x the price of Coopers kit.

I'm from Canada so kits from Northen Brewer is not an option for me.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-16-2012, 08:29 PM   #2
david_42

Recipes 

Liked 139 Times on 132 Posts

Coopers are a good place to start. Generally, for any simple kit the price will depend on the weight, to say how much malt extract is in it.

Secondary fermentation has fallen out of use. It slows down the clean up process by removing most of the yeast. Typically, people ferment for 3-4 weeks, then rack to the bottling bucket or keg.

Remember one unassailable statistic, as explained by the late, great George Carlin: "Just think of how stupid the average person is, and then realize half of them are even stupider!"

"I would like to die on Mars, just not on impact." Elon Musk

Old 06-16-2012, 08:38 PM   #3
james2507
Recipes