Get your HBT Growlers, Shirts and Membership before the Rush!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Extract Brewing > To Chill or not to chill?

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-21-2006, 01:17 PM   #1
Tom Smith
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default To Chill or not to chill?

I have been brewing for a few years now, and I have never once used a wort chiller. I dump my wort into the my brewbucket, and let it sit around a day, and then pitch.
So now I'm thinking about trying a wort chiller, but I'm wondering aside from chilling the wort quicker, allowing me to pitch sooner, what is the benefit to brew quality?

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-21-2006, 01:19 PM   #2
Wolf

Recipes 

Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tom Smith
I have been brewing for a few years now, and I have never once used a wort chiller. I dump my wort into the my brewbucket, and let it sit around a day, and then pitch.
So now I'm thinking about trying a wort chiller, but I'm wondering aside from chilling the wort quicker, allowing me to pitch sooner, what is the benefit to brew quality?
As far as I know the two main benefits are clearer beer and less chance of an infection. Letting the wort sit at higher temperatures for a longer period of time give bacteria a better chance to get a foothold and infect your beer. The sooner the wort is cooled down and fermenting the better.

Old 11-21-2006, 01:42 PM   #3
desiderata

Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts
Likes Given: 10