Ss Brewing Technologies Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Extract Brewing > Chill Haze driving me insane

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-22-2009, 02:34 AM   #11
Jmac
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

I dont think that I have made a clear beer yet as I cant keep from drinking it.. I started brewing 10 gallon batches in hops to build up a pipe line but I just started drinking more! Go figure!

Old 04-22-2009, 06:20 AM   #12
CABeerMaker
Recipes 

What I do to kill my haze is Irish Moss in the boil. Then I take my kettle and set it in the sink packed with ice to quick cool to around 80. Then I add to fermenter and top with cool water and usually pitch yeast when temps are near 65-70 range. When I transfer to secondary I add a little gelatin to help. Good news is it doesn't affect taste.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-22-2009, 01:47 PM   #13
sundaybrewingco
Recipes 

Liked 5 Times on 4 Posts

And if people complain about the chill haze, just tell them they could have a Smirnoff Ice or a Wine Cooler instead...

Old 06-01-2009, 07:36 PM   #14
undallas
Recipes 

Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by sundaybrewingco View Post
And if people complain about the chill haze, just tell them they could have a Smirnoff Ice or a Wine Cooler instead...
Those are pretty hazy drinks...

Happy Brewing

Old 06-01-2009, 10:57 PM   #15
BrewN00b
Recipes 

Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

I tried something new that I assure you will bring your wort down to pitching temps in minutes. The day before you brew you take two gal of filtered water and put .5 gal each into 4 one gal plastic bags, freeze them solid. one brew day cut open the bag and dump one
bag at a time into the hot wort. With 3 bags it should be plenty cool. Mine was cooled to 67F within 3 minutes and almost perfectly topped of at 5 gal.

I bet it works for you too.

Primary Fermenter: English ESB

Secondary: EMPTY :(

Secondary: Empty :(