LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-10-2012, 01:34 AM   #1
new2brew1221
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default Caribou slobber

I was looking thru the Northern Brewer catalog and came across a brown ale. Has anyone made it? Looking at the reviews on N.B. website, someone said they left the hops in during ferment. My question is, since I am new to homebrewing, when you are moving from the boil to the ferment container, are you supposed to strain the wort? The first batch I brewed, I just gently poured from the boil pot to the ferment bucket. I think I would like to make the Caribou Slobber, but I want it to be as good as possible. Thank you for all the advice and help here on the forum.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-10-2012, 01:54 AM   #2
PondScum
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts
Likes Given: 2

There's 3 hop additions at 1oz each. That's a lot of hops for an extract so you'll have some additional trub if you don't use a hop filter bag during the boil or strain the wort when you transfer it into your primary fermenter. You want to avoid dumping everything from the kettle into your primary. If you chill the wort quickly before you transfer, a lot of the 'solids' will settle and make it little easier to transfer without getting all of the hop sediment into the primary.

Some people use hop filter bags or strain the wort. Some people don't.
One of those wonderful decisions that makes homebrews unique.

You could make two batches of it. Strain/filter one batch and not the other and see which one you like best.

Also you could pick up some Moose Drool and see how close you get to it.

Old 07-10-2012, 01:54 AM   #3
msinning
Recipes