Electric Brewing Supply 30A BCS Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Extract Brewing > Brewing Extract, without nuking the Extract.

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-22-2013, 02:24 PM   #11
PistolaPete
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Recipes 

Liked 9 Times on 8 Posts
Likes Given: 11

Quote:
Originally Posted by xxcommxx View Post
That makes sense. But why do most kits have you put the malt extract in and then bring it to a boil to cook the hops? The kit I have is the following:

1-steep specialty grains for 30 minutes
2- remove grains and bring to a boil
3-cut the heat and then pour in lme, stir
4-bring back to a boil and add hops for an hour
5-flame out
6-rapidly chill wort

So are you saying its ok to do the following:

1-steep specialty grains for 30 minutes then remove grains
2-bring to a boil and add hops for an hour
3-flame out
4-add lme
5-rapidly chill wort

Obviously I am new to brewing but will it make a big difference if I do the latter?

Thanks for your help
Keep in mind if you alter the amount of extract added at the beginning of the boil you will alter your bitterness level from the hops. If the IBUs of the recipe are based on you adding all of the extract at the beginning but you decide to save some for flameout you may have a beer that is more bitter than what was intended. You could plug your ingredients into one of the free online calculators like Brewtoad so you can see you that by adding only half of the extract at the start of boil and the rest at flameout you will slightly raise your IBU levels.

"making alcohol is easy....making it taste good, well that's were the real challenge is!" -Glibbidy

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-22-2013, 04:00 PM   #12
psymonkey
HBT_SUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 9 Times on 8 Posts
Likes Given: 19

Quote:
Originally Posted by drainbamage View Post