Happy HolidaySs Giveaway - Winners Re-Re-Re-Drawn - 24 hours to Claim!

Get your HBT Growlers, Shirts and Membership before the Rush!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Extract Brewing > To boil or not to boil Coopers kits?

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-14-2013, 05:46 AM   #1
badbaker44
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default To boil or not to boil Coopers kits?

Pretty much a newbie here. Have made a couple batches and just finished drinking my keg of Coopers English bitter. I really enjoyed it and boiled the kit for an hour with 10 liters of water and 1 kg of DME. Added 9 liters of cold water to chill it down, pitched some Nottingham yeast and fermented it in the primary for three week before I kegged it and added Co2.

Here is my question - do I need to boil it or not? I have done a Munton's kit twice without the boil and got a really "cidery" tasting beer that wasnt drinkable. I also used 500 grams of DME and 500 grams of dextrose. Could the off flavors come from an infection or from the dextrose?

I have gone to boiling the extract because my buddy has be doing it this way for years and he brews some really good beers from extract kits.

I would really appreciate some feedback.

Thanks,

Ian

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-14-2013, 06:08 AM   #2
Colorowdy
Recipes 

Liked 44 Times on 32 Posts
Likes Given: 129

Always boil

Everyone dies. Few truly live.

Old 04-14-2013, 07:17 AM   #3
BxBrewer
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 57 Times on 41 Posts
Likes Given: 37

A pre hoped extract in a can is different than a extract kit. Pre hoped extract i would not boil. You will lose all your hops flavor,bitterness and aroma. If you really want to make quality beer with extract. Go with a custom kit.

Old 04-14-2013, 06:06 PM   #4
unionrdr
Wannabe author
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 2262 Times on 1970 Posts
Likes Given: 1698