Spike Brewing 12.5 Conical Fermenter Giveaway - Enter Now!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Extract Brewing > Amber malt extract

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-08-2009, 04:18 PM   #1
Headcase
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default Amber malt extract

Heya guys. I've got 6 lbs of Amber LME and 6 lbs of Amber DME. What kinda brews do you usually make with these? I'm thinkin mabye some kinda Brown Ale, though I know those are usually made with Light malt extract. Or even mabye a porter of some kind. I don't know. I'm still pretty new at this and have only been brewing since Sep. I would appreciate any ideas you fellas would like to share with me.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-08-2009, 04:21 PM   #2
ChshreCat
HBT_SUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 457 Times on 363 Posts
Likes Given: 17

I use amber LME in my brown ale and my Double Chocolate Oatmeal Snout PM recipes.

"Science + beer = good!"
-Adam Savage

Old 12-08-2009, 05:32 PM   #4
Headcase
Recipes 

Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts

Yooper that recipe is almost exactly what I had in mind before I noticed Brown ales were being done with a different extract. I was planning on using Cascade Hops and tinkering with the idea of throwing a few orange peels in at the last 10 minutes of boil. I'm also going with WLP060 American Ale Blend yeast. Still not sure how this will come out. What's your take on this?

ChshreCat, that beer looks amazing! It's going to take EPIC discipline not to quite work and go home to brew that right now! Also I don't think I have the gear at the moment to do a partail mash.

Thanks for the input guys. I believe I'll learn alot form you all

Old 12-08-2009, 05:55 PM   #5
Yooper
Ale's What Cures You!
HBT_ADMIN.png

Recipes 

Liked 4369 Times on 3177 Posts
Likes Given: 850

Quote:
Originally Posted by Headcase View Post