LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-18-2011, 05:35 PM   #1
ColoradoHomebrew
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts
Likes Given: 3

Default Altbier extract

I started brewing 5 weeks ago and have tasted my first of 4 batches so far, which is a Kolsch. All I can say is fantastic. So now I am trying to become more efficient in my process as far as cost. I've started purchasing hops in bulk and now want to harvest yeast from my bottles of Kolsch. I've built a simple recepie for the Kolsch yeast as a Alt Bier:
6 lbs Munich DME
1 lb Pilsen LME
12 OZ 10L
8 OZ 40L
1 OZ traditional @60
.5 OZ Hallertau @ 45
1 OZ Hallertau @ 5

Any thoughts on my recipie and a timeline for harvesting yeast from a bottle? I know I need to pitch 2 or 3 bottles into a starter, but I am not sure how long or how many times to add wort to get to pitching on brew day.

Also, Now knowing it is easier to harvest from a fermenter, I was reading a post on tastybrew to put them in sealed mason jars. I have Weizen and Trapist in fermentation and would like to do that. Will that last long without rupturing in the fridge?

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-18-2011, 05:51 PM   #2
Randar
Damn right I got da brews
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 1 reviews

Recipes 

Liked 4604 Times on 4507 Posts
Likes Given: 2099

I am guessing you don't have a stir plate since you are relatively new?

Bottle to appropriately sized starter will depend on the freshness of your bottles and should take ~3 days to grow up and step from a small-ish 250ml starter to something like a 2L starter (rough estimate, use Mr Malty to be sure).

Recipe looks decent enough. You could ditch the 10L crystal (won't lend much given the amount of munich) and add Carafa II in small quantity for color if you want to darken it at all. You are going to want to finish dry, which is hard to do with extracts, so minimize the amount of crystal unfermentables you add.

Old 04-18-2011, 06:16 PM   #3