Kegconnection Complete Starter Kit and More Giveaway!


Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Extract Brewing > Adding DME to secondary???

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-24-2011, 07:13 PM   #1
Daedalus
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Fairfax, VA
Posts: 55
Default Adding DME to secondary???

I just realized that I completely messed up my calculations when working with a recipe. I needed to add an additional pound of extract but failed to do so in the boil. Since my hydrometer shattered, I wasn't able to measure my OG and I'll probably come up really short if I don't add this extra lb.

Is it possible to add an extra pound when I rack from primary to secondary? Is the problem contamination? Could I boil a quart or so and make a mini wort? Then add it?

Thanks.

__________________
Daedalus is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-24-2011, 07:56 PM   #2
kapbrew13
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: somerset, NJ
Posts: 1,384
Liked 41 Times on 33 Posts

Default

Just finish this one off and make it a session beer. Start your next batch tomorrow and add all the ingredients. See how each turns out.

__________________
kapbrew13 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-24-2011, 08:15 PM   #3
Daedalus
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Fairfax, VA
Posts: 55
Default

I was hoping to give this one a little kick in the pants. Will adding the mini wort kill my current batch?
__________________
Daedalus is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-24-2011, 09:14 PM   #4
Meaty
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1
Default

You might could try just adding sugar. I've added it directly to the secondary with no problems.

__________________
Meaty is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-24-2011, 10:11 PM   #5
terrapinj
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Santa Monica, CA
Posts: 2,412
Liked 167 Times on 124 Posts
Likes Given: 533

Default

why don't you add it in primary when it's on the bulk of the yeast? sounds like you haven't racked it over yet?

__________________
terrapinj is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-25-2011, 12:25 PM   #6
Karmawar
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Sutton Coldfield, West midlands
Posts: 38
Default

For an extra fast brew day I add DME from the packet to hopped malty water with no contamination issues so far (I have used this lazy method for over 5 years).

Only issue could be the fermentation will restart and maybe loosing the protective CO2 layer above the top of the beer in the fermenter I guess.

__________________
Karmawar is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-25-2011, 01:10 PM   #7
Daedalus
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Fairfax, VA
Posts: 55
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by terrapinj View Post
why don't you add it in primary when it's on the bulk of the yeast? sounds like you haven't racked it over yet?
No I haven't!
__________________
Daedalus is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-25-2011, 04:23 PM   #8
terrapinj
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Santa Monica, CA
Posts: 2,412
Liked 167 Times on 124 Posts
Likes Given: 533

Default

add it to primary IMO

i've done a dextrose addition in primary during active fermentation and it worked just fine, shouldn't be any issue with adding DME, I would think adding in secondary would defeat the purpose of using the secondary to clear the beer since the yeast will be active and churning again once you add the DME

__________________
terrapinj is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-25-2011, 11:25 PM   #9
thdrduck
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Ettrick, WI
Posts: 33
Default

If you have the room in the primary, boil it for about 10 minutes in a qt of water stirring often to keep it from scorching. Let it cool in a cold water bath and dump er in carefully as to not introduce more air then you need to. Your schedule will be off, but you won't ruin your beer. Often high gravity beers have their sugars added at different times during fermentation as to not "shock" the yeast. Relax, don't worry, have a homebrew.

__________________
thdrduck is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-29-2011, 05:05 PM   #10
nymtber
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: NO, New York
Posts: 118
Default

When you buy a new hydrometer, buy two. Won't hurt to have a spare! They don't cost THAT much...

I should listen to my own advice, but I also use one at work around machinery, and...so far so good *crosses fingers*

If you really want it in there, follow the boil it/cool it and then add to fermenter. If you have enough sugars already, just have a lower-abv session beer. Drop that DME into another beer and boost it

__________________
nymtber is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Adding cocoa nibs to secondary... Graeme Extract Brewing 13 10-21-2012 10:19 PM
adding Lemons to secondary Oregonducks10 Extract Brewing 2 08-25-2011 09:25 PM
Adding Hops in Secondary gdenmark Extract Brewing 12 03-04-2011 02:23 AM
Adding flavor extracts at bottling or in secondary? brewdiver87 Extract Brewing 2 12-02-2010 07:41 AM
Adding to secondary tjstromquist Extract Brewing 11 12-08-2005 06:55 PM