Kegconnection Complete Starter Kit and More Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > All Grain & Partial Mash Brewing > Wort runoff with leaf hops

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-02-2010, 01:57 PM   #1
SickTransitMundus
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default Wort runoff with leaf hops

Hai,

All-grain noob here. I upgraded to a Fermentap 8 gal kettle with a ball valve spigot when I switched to AG. It has a copper U-tube to pull wort from the side of the kettle. I used pellet hops for my first couple of batches and was able to whirlpool and runoff into the fermenter with no problem.

I went a little nuts a few weeks ago and bought about 3lb of whole leaf hops from freshops. Made a black double IPA that had about 6 oz. of leaf hops total. I quickly learned that my whirlpool technique was ineffective - the tube and spigot clogged up immediately. Ended up dumping the wort through a strainer into the primary. Didn't lose much wort, but the maneuver wasn't too kind to my back.

So, anyone have tips for getting the wort to runoff through the spigot when using large quantities of leaf hops? I thought about maybe fashioning a mash-tun style steel braid to screw into the interior port of the spigot.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-02-2010, 03:21 PM   #2
TipsyDragon
Recipes 

Liked 21 Times on 19 Posts

this one is easy. use a hop bag next time. your LHBS will sell them.

Old 04-02-2010, 03:31 PM   #3
samc
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 53 Times on 50 Posts
Likes Given: 29

False bottom works great for leaf hops. Hop bag is ok as well - just make sure it is the biggest one you can find so the hops have enough room to expand.

Old 04-02-2010, 04:22 PM   #4
SickTransitMundus
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Yeah, I used to use hop bags with my extract batches. I have a bunch sitting in a drawer somewhere. I guess I developed an idea that hop bags impacted utilization.