Kegconnection Complete Starter Kit and More Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > All Grain & Partial Mash Brewing > Why I Went Back to Extract This Summer

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-06-2010, 02:33 AM   #1
Cistercian
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default Why I Went Back to Extract This Summer

I feel guilty admitting this: I backslid and did an liquid extract beer today.

It's so dang hot here in Texas that I decided to reduce brew time and just do an extract wheat beer. I've been doing all grain for over 2 years. I just wanted some beer and I didn't want to sweat that long outside.

Interested in Sacred Scripture, Catholic Theology, and Thomistic Philosophy?

Follow me on Twitter!

Check out: Canterbury Tales Blog

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-06-2010, 02:47 AM   #2
Pappers_
HBT_MODERATOR.png

Recipes 

Liked 890 Times on 642 Posts
Likes Given: 1958

I don't think its anything to feel guilty about! People make really fine beer from malt extract.

Old 06-06-2010, 02:53 AM   #3
wcarter1227
Recipes 

Liked 8 Times on 4 Posts

i just stepped up to all grain a few months ago but i will admit that the last 2 brews i have made a watermelon wheat and a wit were partial mashes both turned out fantastic.

your still making beer, unless you start making pisswater beers like blue ribbon or coors i say cheers and good luck.

primary:15 minute Cascade Pale Ale
Primary 2: Cream of 3 crops
Primary 3: Sam Adams Holiday Porter Clone
bottled:BM's Blue Balls Belgian Wit
15 Minute Cascade Pale Ale
DryHopped Cream of 3 Crops
http://hopville.com/brewer/wcarter1227

Old 06-06-2010, 03:04 AM   #4
artyboy
Recipes 

If you can make "pisswater beers" with no off flavors then you know you're a good brewer.

I've been thinking about picking up a 50# case of DME just so that I can play around with some extract brews. You get to skip so many steps. It's really nice to have a batch of beer done in two hours rather than 4-5.