Get your HBT Growlers, Shirts and Membership before the Rush!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > All Grain & Partial Mash Brewing > What is Partial Mash

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-09-2007, 01:42 PM   #1
Wrey
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default What is Partial Mash

So I am pretty new to brewing although I have been lurking on these boards and doing a good bit of research. I hear alot about extract/PM and All grain.

What exactly is PM brewing?

What are the differences between Extract w/ seeping and PM?

What additional equipment do you need?

How much longer does it take?

What is the advantage over extract brewing?

These are some of the questions that I have had but haven't been able to find clear answers. Does anyone have and good links to this sort of noob information.

Primary- Witch's Brew Hefe
Primary-le cry, tis empty
Conditioning
Drinking Scotch Ale, Continental Pilsner, Edworts Apfelwein

Total Brews-4

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-09-2007, 02:05 PM   #2
Yooper
Ale's What Cures You!
HBT_ADMIN.png

Recipes 

Liked 4954 Times on 3588 Posts
Likes Given: 1002

Partial mashing is also called mini-mashing. There is some info on the wiki: http://www.homebrewtalk.com/wiki/ind...ash_Simplified

Basically, the technique is like steeping specialty grains except that you use some 2-row or other base malt, and there is actually some conversion going on in there. When you steep crystal or other specialty grains, you get color and flavor but not fermentables. Partial mashing allows you to extract some sugar.

Find me on facebook: Lorena Evans
But I'm pretty boring so don't expect much!
https://www.facebook.com/lorena.t.evans

Old 08-09-2007, 02:31 PM   #3
TheJadedDog
AFK ATM
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 6 Times on 6 Posts