New Giveaway - Wort Monster Conical Fermenter!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > All Grain & Partial Mash Brewing > What is the Minimum Equipment for AG Brewing?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-27-2007, 06:08 PM   #1
efreem01
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Recipes 

Default What is the Minimum Equipment for AG Brewing?

Hey All,

I've been progressing in my beer brewing pretty steadily for 6 months. Now i have 5 batches under my belt with a few extract and PM's in there. I'm interested in doing AG brewing because i want more control over the finished product. With extract, to some extent all of my batches have a similar taste.

What is the minimum equipment i would need to purchase to do AG brewing? I think that i'm a brewer for life, so eventually i'll buy all of the equipment my heart desires.

Here is what i'm working with:

24 qt aluminum brew kettle
6.5 gallon primary carboy
5 gallon secondary carboy
7.75 gallon plastic bottle bucket w/no lid

I just got an upright fridge/freezer from my future father-in-law and a temp regulator, so soon i'll be lagering away as well!

"When I read about the evils of drinking, I gave up reading"

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-27-2007, 06:13 PM   #2
Yuri_Rage
Gritty.
HBT_MODERATOR.png

Recipes 

Liked 580 Times on 361 Posts
Likes Given: 52

You'll need a mash tun and hot liquor tank.

The mash tun can be made from a cooler (a 10 gallon cooler works well for 5 gallon batches), a piece of braided stainless hose with the rubber lining removed, and a bulkhead fitting with a valve.

The hot liquor tank is nothing more than another kettle big enough to hold your sparge water (typically 3-5 gallons for a 5 gallon batch).

A wort chiller is highly recommended. You should consider a slightly larger boil kettle as well (7.5 - 10 gallons). A grain mill is optional, as you can order your grains pre-crushed.

Old 05-27-2007, 06:17 PM   #3
mew
Recipes 

Liked 8 Times on 4 Posts