New Giveaway - Wort Monster Conical Fermeneter!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > All Grain & Partial Mash Brewing > What makes AG so difficult?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-26-2006, 11:01 PM   #1
Jens-Kristian
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default What makes AG so difficult?

I first wrote this post as a reply to the "Is it against the rules" thread, but figured it might draw the thread off its topic a bit.

This is quoted from that thread:

Quote:
First, I'm in awe of you brewing AG since starting brewing in January. 2 Extract batches then into AG? RIGHTEOUS!!

Not to take away from your hard work on this, Twabe - I think it's great that you took the leap to AG as quickly as that.

However, it just makes me wonder when everyone keeps talking about AG brewing as some form of near-impossible step to take and that it is supposedly incredibly difficult/expensive etc.

I started brewing AG (also in January) and had done no brewing whatsoever before then and while I agree there's a fair bit of work involved, I have to admit I've found it . . . surprisingly easy!

Yes. More things can go wrong in the process, but if you are meticulous about the process, there isn't really that much in it which is difficult. A lot of work, yes, but not really difficult.

I can easily understand reasons to stay with extract when these are based on thing like how much time you have on your hands for brewing or space issues etc. I can't really understand it if it's a matter of not wanting to go through the complications of brewing AG as such.

Please don't think I'm bashing either AG or extract brewers. As I see it, whatever suits you best is what you should be doing, and if the outcome of your labour is good beer, then you're achieving what you're supposed to, right?

In this, I suppose, there's a question and that is:

Who put into people's heads that AG is so difficult? And why?

Cheers,

Jens-Kristian

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message