Ss Brewing Technologies Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > All Grain & Partial Mash Brewing > What to brew in winter?

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-30-2012, 01:28 AM   #1
hsiddall
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Likes Given: 2

Default What to brew in winter?

In in northern Il. I don't mind brewing outside in cold temps and I'm still new to ag so I want to keep trying as each brew gets better. My ambient indoor temps seem to stay about 66 to 68 for fermentation. Haven't done any lagering yet. I've also heard about using lager yeasts in ale styles due to ferment temps?

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-30-2012, 02:14 AM   #2
Billybrewer09
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Recipes 

Liked 15 Times on 12 Posts

Brew anything you like. I would suggest getting your fermentation temps down.
Fermentation temps can be 10° warmer than ambient room temps.
You can brew an ale with lager yeast. You will not get lager characteristics though.

Old 11-30-2012, 02:20 AM   #3
duboman
Recipes 

Liked 472 Times on 438 Posts
Likes Given: 210

Quote:
Originally Posted by hsiddall
In in northern Il. I don't mind brewing outside in cold temps and I'm still new to ag so I want to keep trying as each brew gets better. My ambient indoor temps seem to stay about 66 to 68 for fermentation. Haven't done any lagering yet. I've also heard about using lager yeasts in ale styles due to ferment temps?
Holiday ales, scotch ales, ambers, porters and stouts are all great cold weather beer styles.

You should look into controlling your Ferm temps, even a swamp collet with cold tap water and some ice bottles will go a long way, your ambient is too high and uncontrollable.

You can brew an ale using lager yeast, it's called a California common or steam beer, like Anchor Steam. IME though you still want temps in the high 50s or very low 60s. I ferment mine with WY2112 at 58 and its a huge favorite!

The Commune Brewing Company-Perfecting the "art" of beer since 2010