New Giveaway - Wort Monster Conical Fermenter!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > All Grain & Partial Mash Brewing > Vanilla Stout Question.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-09-2009, 02:07 AM   #1
waterkc
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Recipes 

Default Vanilla Stout Question.

Hello All, I am getting ready to brew a Vanilla Stout and was wondering if anyone has some advice as to when to add the real vanilla beans I have? I am just assuming that you chop them up and put them in with the boil to really get the flavor out of them, is this the right direction? Any help would be great.

Thanks

a man has to know his limits....then push them with every waking breath!

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-09-2009, 02:45 AM   #2
jmlabeck
Recipes 

Liked 4 Times on 3 Posts

Default Vanilla Stout

I'm not an expert, nor do I play one on TV, but here's my thought,

I would wait, chop them up, and put them in the secondary.

Everything I've heard about vanilla implies that alcohol extracts the flavor, and the secondary would be the best place for this to happen.

But, that's only my opinion...

Joe

Primary - cleaning
Secondary - Idle
Conditioning - Uncle Bill's Blueberry Porter
Dotted Line Ale (a blond ale)
Drinking - Uncle Bill's India Porter

Old 03-09-2009, 02:51 AM   #3
fastricky
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 5 Times on 5 Posts

Yup, I've researched this topic and that seems to be the reco. Some say you don't need to bother sanitizing the beans, some say let it steep in bourbon or vodka, or even steam them for 10 minutes or so.

Old 03-09-2009, 02:57 AM   #4
Guyotron
Recipes 

Quote:
Originally Posted by waterkc View Post
Hello All, I am getting ready to brew a Vanilla Stout and was wondering if anyone has some advice as to when to add the real vanilla beans I have? I am just assuming that you chop them up and put them in with the boil to really get the flavor out of them, is this the right direction? Any help would be great.