Ss Brewing Technologies Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > All Grain & Partial Mash Brewing > Useless oats!

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-04-2011, 02:39 PM   #1
Stauffbier
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 1 reviews

Recipes 

Liked 1014 Times on 622 Posts
Likes Given: 2688

Default Useless oats!

I'm new at brewing, and I just discovered that my rolled oats are useless if I don't mash them. I'm only an extract/steep brewer at the moment. I'd be willing to try partial mash with this batch if it's possible. Is Crystal 50-60L considered a 2 row? If so, can I use it to partial mash with? I have 1lb of crystal 50-60 and 1/2 lb of oats... Are these amounts doable? Here's my grain list in case something else will work;

1lb Crystal 50-60L
1lb Extra special pale
1/2lb Lt. Roasted Barley
1/4lb Organic Chocolate
1/2lb rolled oats

Any advice is appreciated, Thanks!

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-04-2011, 02:45 PM   #2
Reno_eNVy
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Recipes 

Liked 195 Times on 164 Posts
Likes Given: 66

Crystal is most certainly not a base-malt and doesn't even require mashing... however, rolled oats/wheat/rye/etc do very much require mashing.

You need to get yourself some 2-row for a partial mash, or at least a base-grain (i.e. has mash enzymes) like vienna or munich

Kegged: Cascadian Dark Ale

Bottled: English Barleywine (brewed 9/26/09 -- bottled 5/5/10)

LET'S GO LA!
LA CAMPEONES!
PLAY FOR GLORY, THE GLORY LA!

Old 12-04-2011, 02:55 PM   #3
Stauffbier
HBT_SUPPORTER.png

Recipes