New Giveaway - Wort Monster Conical Fermenter!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > All Grain & Partial Mash Brewing > To turn to the dark side or not?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-09-2011, 02:53 PM   #1
mwmoose152
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default To turn to the dark side or not?

So, I've been brewing for about 8 months now, with 10 batches (extract & extract w/specialty grains) under my belt. I know this is a very novice status, but I'm enjoying it so far.

The question is....when did you guys make the jump to all-grain, and are there any setbacks to it? I enjoy brewing, and have a 2-car garage & a deck on the back of my house, so space to do so isn't an issue.

Thoughts?

Thanks, all!

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-09-2011, 03:01 PM   #2
MazdaMatt
Recipes 

Liked 9 Times on 7 Posts
Likes Given: 1

I never understood what the holdup is for anybody to go all grain. Buy a turkey fryer, sew up a muslin bag, start brewing. You don't need an automated three-teir, pumped, liquid-cooled, turbo charged rocket powered brew setup. Get at er.

Old 06-09-2011, 03:05 PM   #3
smitty2324
Recipes 

Liked 4 Times on 4 Posts
Likes Given: 5

I did one batch and switched to grain.... haven't looked back once. There a tons of posts on here about doing all-grain on the cheap. Cooler and parts to do a mash tun are <$75 and you are good to go. You can make that up in grain vs LME in 5-10 batches.

Old 06-09-2011, 03:06 PM   #4
Golddiggie
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 467 Times on 414 Posts
Likes Given: 266

I did one partial mash batch at #4 then went all grain. Other than space to brew, just get good hardware. Do some test batches to dial it all in and you should ne good to go. If you have the optiom to watch someone brew an all grain batch, do it. Check out a few different brewers setups and use that to help you to figure out what to get.