Ss Brewing Technologies Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > All Grain & Partial Mash Brewing > Timing on going all grain

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-05-2012, 12:28 AM   #11
CrystalShip
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 19 Times on 14 Posts
Likes Given: 13

Quote:
Originally Posted by TrubDog View Post
I studied this forum, watched a ton of YouTube videos a started with AG out of the gate. Never brewed an extract batch and never looked back. The recipe database is awesome and I've always been happy withe the outcomes.

Go for it!

+1 to this, I also read "The Everything Homebrewing Book"

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-05-2012, 12:43 AM   #12
ipso
Recipes 

Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts
Likes Given: 5

Quote:
Originally Posted by OClairBrew View Post
…If you can make oatmeal, you can brew all grain….
Classic!

I was all-grain from the get-go. At this point I literally think extract brewing is more complicated – trying to convert recipes and such.

The only recommendation I have is get BeerSmith or ProMash. I was a hard head and built spreadsheets and wanted to calc everything from the ground up and made everything way too complicated. Somehow I saw that effort as part and parcel to the all-grain purity. Don't do that.

Old 09-05-2012, 01:40 AM   #13
igotworts
Recipes 

Default this...

Quote:
Originally Posted by ipso View Post
Classic!

I was all-grain from the get-go. At this point I literally think extract brewing is more complicated – trying to convert recipes and such.

The only recommendation I have is get BeerSmith or ProMash. I was a hard head and built spreadsheets and wanted to calc everything from the ground up and made everything way too complicated. Somehow I saw that effort as part and parcel to the all-grain purity. Don't do that.