Electric Brewing Supply 30A BCS Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > All Grain & Partial Mash Brewing > Thoughts on my AG Sweet Stout Recipe?

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-28-2010, 12:33 PM   #1
Tennessee
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Thoughts on my AG Sweet Stout Recipe?

Hi. I am new to AG brewing & this will be 2nd batch & would like some thoughts on my recipe below. I will be using DeathBrewer's stove top mash technique, which proved successful the first time around (Thanks DB!!!!). My first try at AG was a 3 gal. batch (small stove, no wort chiller, etc..) but this time I want to to a 4 gal. batch... boil 3 gal. then top off with a gal. of water.

One thing that crossed my mind was that I have too many specialty malts in my grain bill. Could I loose the roasted barley perhaps? what does it add that the debittered Black & chocolate don't?

thanks in advance!!!!

malt & fermentables
% LB OZ Malt or Fermentable ppg °L

63% 5 0 American Two-row Pale 37 1
13% 1 0 Crystal 40L info 34 40
6% 0 8 Debittered Black Malt 34 550
6% 0 8 Chocolate Malt (US) 28 350
6% 0 8 Caramel/Crystal Malt -120L 33 120
6% 0 8 Roasted Barley 25 300
Batch size: 4.0 gallons

Original Gravity
(1.048 to 1.056)
Final Gravity
(1.012 to 1.015)
Color
52° SRM / 102° EBC
(Black)
Mash Efficiency
75% edit

hops
boil 60 mins 1.0 Kent Golding info pellet 5.0 aa%

Bitterness
19.6 IBU / 5 HBU
BU:GU

yeast
Wyeast British Ale (1098)

Alcohol
5.3% ABV / 4% ABW
Calories
178 per 12 oz.

misc
boil 15 min 0.25 ounces Irish Moss
boil 15 min 8 ounces Lactose

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-28-2010, 01:15 PM   #2
BobBailey
Recipes 

Liked 14 Times on 12 Posts
Likes Given: 3

Loose the debittered black and the crystal 40, cut back the roasted barley to 4 oz. and add a lb. of flaked barley. I would recomend mashing at about 156 F.

If you're entering it into competition, you might just scale back the debittered black to make the minimum SRM.

Old 10-28-2010, 01:25 PM   #3