Happy HolidaySs Giveaway - Winners Re-Re-Drawn - 24 hours to Claim!

Get your HBT Growlers, Shirts and Membership before the Rush!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > All Grain & Partial Mash Brewing > Thinking about going AG? Don't be afraid.

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-29-2009, 12:31 AM   #31
thedidey
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 4 Times on 2 Posts
Likes Given: 2

+1

My first All-grain is bubbling away. It sounds pretty hard, but so did any brewing before yI did it. I won't say that it doesn't take some thinking about but it's much easier to make the switch than you think.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-29-2009, 04:44 PM   #32
bierbrauer
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

When I started brewing I read every book I could get my hands on and went straight into all grain brewing. I use extracts for making starters and that’s about it, not to say that great beer cannot be made by using extracts. I figured since someone else is making the extract, that takes away some of the fun of making your own beer since it is some large company who is responsible for half of the way the beer tastes.

And there’s something to be said about grinding up 25 lbs of grain and seeing how that is turned into a fantastic beverage that can get you drunk!!!!

Bottled:Stone Epic 09.09.09 Clone,Eclipse Stout (11 gal),Bitter Blond, Belgian Dubbel #2, SNC IIPA (So Not a Clone IIPA), Imperial Pale Ale
Keg 1 Golden Shower APA
Keg 2: Sierra Nevada Pale Ale Clone
Keg 3: Sierra Nevada Pale Ale Clone
Keg 4: Sierra Nevada Pale Ale Clone
Keg 5: Citra Pale Ale
Keg 6: Export Stout
Keg 7: Export Stout
Keg 8: Faux Blonde
Keg 9: Empty
Keg 10 (3gal): Empty
On Deck:

Old 12-01-2009, 10:44 PM   #33
bigjoe
Recipes 

Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts

Quote:
First AG-BIAB-SMaSH

All Grain is very easy. Except for the math.