Ss Brewing Technologies Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > All Grain & Partial Mash Brewing > thick krausen 6 days in

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-02-2008, 02:09 AM   #1
eastcoast4130
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default thick krausen 6 days in

i was racking my beer into a secondary tonight and there was some really thick krausen type stuff on top still, it wasnt just foam it was real thick could this be anything not normal im pretty new to this.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-02-2008, 02:14 AM   #2
Brewsmith

Recipes 

Liked 31 Times on 29 Posts

It probably wasn't ready yet. Next time leave it at least a full week, if not two before doing anything. If you do see krausen, leave it alone until it settles.

Fermenting:#160 Apollo/Calypso Pale Ale
Kegged:#153 Old Helicon Barleywine 2013, #157 Irish Red, #158 Mosaic IPA, #159 Bravo/Delta ESB
Up Next:Brown Porter, American Stout, Imperial Stout
My Recipes
Tuba Sonata

Smith & Co. Custom Tap Handles

Old 03-02-2008, 02:42 AM   #3
eastcoast4130
Recipes 

so will my beer be alright?, the air lock activity slowed down to around 1 bubble every 15 seconds. the instructions i got from my LHBS told me to rack to secondary at that time. thanks. im obviously a newb

Old 03-02-2008, 03:02 AM   #4
ajf
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 99 Times on 93 Posts
Likes Given: 39

A thick krausen 6 days into fermentation isn't exactly normal, but then again, it certainly isn't rare.
The problem with instuctions from the LHBS is that the nobody told the yeast how to behave.
Your beer will probably be fine. Next time, don't rack to the secondary until the krausen has fallen and the gravity has remained stable for at least 2 days. This is much more reliable than following a timetable.

Don't believe me. Ask your LHBS.