Kegconnection Complete Starter Kit and More Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > All Grain & Partial Mash Brewing > Stirring during mash-in

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-19-2013, 09:05 PM   #1
jk025
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Likes Given: 1

Default Stirring during mash-in

Ok, so I'm pretty new to the all grain business and have been getting some pretty low numbers while batch sparging (efficiency and missing gravity points) I've been looking for the amount of time I should stir the mash when I first add the strike water to the grains. Most of the time I read people just say to stir really well but I'm wondering if it's like 1 minute, 30 seconds, or even 2-5 minutes? I usually stir for probably 30 seconds to ensure all the grain is wet and not sticking together. Also how vigorously should I stir? Thanks

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-19-2013, 09:29 PM   #2
TrubHead
Recipes 

Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts
Likes Given: 5

I add enough strike water to get the grains wet then stir to get out the dough balls. Then add remaining strike water and stir thoroughly without aerating. Next put the lid on the 5 gallon cooler and wrap with big towel if it's a bit cool outside.

I'm getting 80+ extraction efficiency consistently but results will vary.

Old 03-19-2013, 09:34 PM   #3
DirtyOldDuck
HBT_SUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 70 Times on 61 Posts
Likes Given: 109

I add the strike water first and then scoop grain into the mash tun - sprinkling the grain to spread it out evenly. Every few scoops I use my mash paddle to make sure the grains are all getting wet and not clumping. By the time all of the grain is in the mash tun, everything has been stirred up pretty nicely. I still stir for another minute or so and then close up the mash tun.

Old 03-19-2013, 09:51 PM   #4
ksut1547
Recipes 

Liked 21 Times on 5 Posts