Get your HBT Growlers, Shirts and Membership before the Rush!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > All Grain & Partial Mash Brewing > sparging

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-30-2006, 12:00 AM   #1
skaboyd
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default sparging

I am new to all grain brewing and could use any help on the sparging process the books I have left me with alittle question. I would apriciate any help. I just can't belive it is that complicated but pls help if you can

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-30-2006, 12:40 AM   #2
budbo
Beer is good
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 6 Times on 4 Posts
Likes Given: 9

What is the question?

Old 07-30-2006, 11:28 AM   #3
BlightyBrewer

Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

I batch sparge...it's really easy. Recirculate the first runnings until the wort clears, then empty the mash tun quickly until the grain bed just begins to compact. Then add 70C to 80C water, gently stir and leave for 10-15 mins. Recirculate and then empty quickly again. Continue to do this until the required volume is reached or the gravity is around 1008.

Hope this helps.

Old 07-30-2006, 11:41 AM   #4
mysterio
Recipes 

Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

... and I fly sparge. This involves draining the runnings then slowly sprinkling 75C water over the grain bed, while draining, so that there is a half-inch layer of water over it. This is done slowly for an hour or more so as to rinse out as much sugar as possible.

Old 07-30-2006, 04:28 PM   #5
ajf
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 99 Times on 93 Posts
Likes Given: 39

And whether you decide to batch or fly sparge, add about 1g of near boiling water to the mash and stir to raise the temp up to 168F (75C) before starting. This will greatly improve your efficiency (at least, it did for me.)

-a.

Old 08-01-2006, 10:32 PM   #6
skaboyd
Recipes 

Default thank you all