Ss Brewing Technologies Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > All Grain & Partial Mash Brewing > So over my PM

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-10-2006, 05:23 PM   #1
Gabe
It's a sickness!
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Gabe's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Central coast
Posts: 724
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default So over my PM

I am not a happy brewer right now. I have tried to get my OG up for the last 4 brews that I have done and nothing seems to work. The last brew an expected OG of 1.087 came out 1.070. This is without a grain bag and sparging at 170 on the dot with more water than usuall. I am ready to get out of PM and buy everything necessary for a precise AG set up. My pot is only a 7 gal so will I need to upgrade this as well? Can you give me a list of equipment for this type of setup?. No more sticky LME for me please. Some how my efficiency is like 40 %. I think I am going to break my Hydrometer so I can't use it! It only makes me feel like seconed place. HELP

__________________
Gabe is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-10-2006, 05:27 PM   #2
BootYtRappeR
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
BootYtRappeR's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Lewisville, NC
Posts: 299
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gabe
...I think I am going to break my Hydrometer so I can't use it!...
DO IT!



I just want my beer to taste good..and it does! No hydrometer for me!
__________________
Primary:
Secondary: PRA
Bottled/Kegged/Conditioning: Munich Dunkel Ale
Drinking:
Up Next:
BootYtRappeR is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-10-2006, 05:27 PM   #3
david_42
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
david_42's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Willamina & Oak Grove, Oregon, USA
Posts: 25,651
Liked 133 Times on 126 Posts

Default

Since AG is just mini-mashes grown large, I'm not convinced buying a lot of AG equipment is the solution. I've typically done better with partials than AG.

__________________

Remember one unassailable statistic, as explained by the late, great George Carlin: "Just think of how stupid the average person is, and then realize half of them are even stupider!"

"I would like to die on Mars, just not on impact." Elon Musk

david_42 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-10-2006, 05:30 PM   #4
cweston
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
cweston's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Manhattan, KS
Posts: 2,019
Liked 11 Times on 9 Posts

Default

Yes, you would need a larger brew pot for AG.

A typical pre-boil volume is 6.5-7 gallons (I usually colllect 7 gallons), so I think that would make 8 or 8.5 gallons just about the absolute minimum for a brew pot.

I use a 15.5 gal keggle and have actually boiled over a 7 gal boil once or twice.

__________________

Primary: none
Secondary:
Bottle conditioning: Robust Porter
Drinking: Saison Dupont clone, tripel
Coming soon: Columbus APA, Rich Red ale
cweston is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-10-2006, 05:30 PM   #5
Steve973
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 297
Default

well you need a mash/lauter tun and a 10 gallon polarware pot with a spigot would be really nice. a chiller is pretty much required, too, and a sparge arm makes things really nice.

But maybe we could help you with your partial mash efficiency?

__________________
Steve973 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-10-2006, 05:31 PM   #6
Dude
Will work for beer
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Dude's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Knob Noster, Missouri
Posts: 8,843
Liked 55 Times on 45 Posts
Likes Given: 5

Default

And you think going AG is going to help your efficiency?

Exactly the opposite. You are in for a rude awakening the first time you get 70% and the next time you get 86% and you have no idea why. And thier are 100 variables as to what you did or didn't do differently from one time to the next.

Extract has a certain percentage OG dialed in. If you use the same (or similar) extract every time you should be able to dial in your OG perfectly almost every time.

I'd check other facets of your procedures before you make life more difficult by going AG. Are you positive your hydrometer is calibrated? Are you positive you are correcting for temperature when you take a reading?

__________________
On Tap: Lake Walk Pale Ale -- Eternity (Raspberry Stout) -- Nutrocker -- Donnybrook Dark
Primary: Lake Walk Pale Ale
Secondary: Summit IPA
Up Next: Smoked Porter -- Pub Ale -- Watermelon Wheat
Planning:
Gone But Not Forgotten:

www.IronOrrBrewery.com
Dude is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-10-2006, 05:34 PM   #7
mysterio
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Glasgow, Scotland
Posts: 696
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Default

Yeah, efficiency is one of the big all-grain headaches. Just add some extra DME.

__________________
mysterio is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-10-2006, 05:54 PM   #8
the_bird
10th-Level Beer Nerd
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
the_bird's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Adams, MA
Posts: 20,497
Liked 371 Times on 306 Posts
Likes Given: 97

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cweston
Yes, you would need a larger brew pot for AG.

A typical pre-boil volume is 6.5-7 gallons (I usually colllect 7 gallons), so I think that would make 8 or 8.5 gallons just about the absolute minimum for a brew pot.

I use a 15.5 gal keggle and have actually boiled over a 7 gal boil once or twice.
See, I'm a dumbass, if that wasn't immediately obvious. I was stoked to find a 28-qt turkey fryer at a good price, but realized after I bought it (manager's special, don't think they'll take it back) that seven gallons is NOT enough to do a full boil. So, I'm going in one of two directions:

4 gallon AG batches (it's just SWMBO and I drinking, but I hate doing the same work for 20% less output), or

Doing 4 gallon partial-but-almost-full boils, doing extract-and-partial mashes, topping off with a gallon of water in the fermenter.

In any case, now I feel like even more of an idiot...
__________________
Come join Yankee Ingenuity!

"I'm kind of toasted. But I looked at my watch and it's only 6:30 so I can't stop drinking yet." - Yooper's Bob
"Brown eye finally recovered after the abuse it endured in Ptown last weekend, but it took almost a full week." - Paulie
"no, he just doesn't speak 'stupid'. i, however, am fluent...." - motobrewer
"... I'll go both ways." - Melana

That'll do, Pigley. That'll do.
the_bird is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-10-2006, 06:05 PM   #9
cweston
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
cweston's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Manhattan, KS
Posts: 2,019
Liked 11 Times on 9 Posts

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by the_bird
...but realized after I bought it (manager's special, don't think they'll take it back) that seven gallons is NOT enough to do a full boil.
Well, you could collect 6 gallons and boil very carefully...then top off with water to make 5.25 (or whatever) in the fermenter.

You'd probably acheive fairly low efficiency with this scheme (6 gallons is probably not enough sparge water to get all the sugary goodness). But grain is relatively cheap, so it would be a surmountable issue once you got your efficiency dialed in, I'd think.

It would also be possible, albeit a PITA, to start you boil in 2 pots (maybe 5 gals in your big pot, 2 more gallons on the stove) until you get through the hot break and boil some volume off, and then combine wort in one pot.
__________________

Primary: none
Secondary:
Bottle conditioning: Robust Porter
Drinking: Saison Dupont clone, tripel
Coming soon: Columbus APA, Rich Red ale
cweston is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-10-2006, 06:12 PM   #10
Gabe
It's a sickness!
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Gabe's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Central coast
Posts: 724
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default

How would I calibrate my hdrometer Dude?

__________________
Gabe is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools