New Giveaway - Wort Monster Conical Fermenter!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > All Grain & Partial Mash Brewing > Rushing into All Grain?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-01-2011, 12:22 AM   #1
Lgaddy44
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Recipes 

Liked 17 Times on 17 Posts
Likes Given: 4

Default Rushing into All Grain?

I'm new to home brewing, only a couple months in, but of course, it's consuming my every free thought. I've completed a couple extracts, will be doing my second partial mash this weekend, and I'm exploring the possibilities of jumping into an all grain (possibly too soon?).

I've watched a ton of videos on youtube and have also read up a good bit on all grain methods. I'm feeling fairly confident that I'd like to at least give it a shot. The problem is, I live in an apartment, with limited working space, and no ability to cook outside with a 30qt pot and propane burner.

I'm thinking...I've got what I think is about a 10 gallon Coleman cooler I can convert into a mash tun. Split the difference for my mash water volume between (2) 4-5 gallon pots on the electric stove. Bring the water to temp, mash in the cooler, and heat up my sparge water in the same fashion. Vorlauf, sparge as directed, and split the wort between my (2) pots on the stove for the boil.

I could split the hop additions equally between the two pots, chill, and combine both pots of wort into my primary at the end. Shake up the carboy, pitch the yeast, and voila!

I feel like this is a dumb question, because it really does make sense to me, but I would greatly appreciate some feedback, and please, feel free to let me know if anyone has tried or currently uses this method.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-01-2011, 12:25 AM   #2
MeatyPortion
Internet Bartender
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 364 Times on 292 Posts
Likes Given: 222

http://www.homebrewtalk.com/f39/easy-stovetop-all-grain-brewing-pics-90132/