Spike Brewing 12.5 Conical Fermenter Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > All Grain & Partial Mash Brewing > Rookie efficiency questions

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-30-2008, 03:49 PM   #1
mangine77
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Rookie efficiency questions

I just did my second ever all-grain batch. I set my efficiency on Beersmith to 68% because I'm still learning and I'm using the Zapap lauter tun which I know can cause some loss in efficiency.

I used 11.25 lbs of grains and had an OG of 1049 and my target was 1050. Did I really get that close to my target? So that means that I was at around 70% efficiency right?? Because I was supposed to hit 1050 at 68%.

Is that how this works?

I did have an issue with my sparge because I was supposed to have two seperate 2.5 gallon sparges and after the first one, my kettle was at my pre-boil volume (6.3 gallons).

Is only sparging with 2.5 gallons of water going to be bad for this beer?

I think I started the mash with around 3.75 gallons of water and I added around a gallon of really hot water to the tun to fill up the false bottom. I think this is why my boil kettle was full even before the second sparge.

Sorry for all the basic questions, but I'm learning a lot in a short period of time thanks to the brew nuts on here.

Help pick out my next beer for the British Open:
http://albatrossbrewing.blogspot.com/

I feel sorry for people who don't drink. When they wake up in the morning, That's as good as they're going to feel all day.
-Frank Sinatra

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-30-2008, 04:10 PM   #2
Bobby_M
Vendor and Brewer
HBT_SPONSOR.png
Vendor Ads 
Feedback Score: 2 reviews

Recipes 

Liked 934 Times on 621 Posts
Likes Given: 28

If I use 11.25 pounds of standard 2-row, 1.049 at 5 gallons is actually 61% efficiency.