Spike Brewing 12.5 Conical Fermenter Giveaway - Enter Now!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > All Grain & Partial Mash Brewing > "Rinsing the Grain Bed"?

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-30-2010, 04:51 PM   #1
BigTexun
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 3 Times on 2 Posts

Default "Rinsing the Grain Bed"?

Hello All,

I'm pretty new to this all grain stuff and I'm wondering if I'm shooting myself in the foot. Specifically, here is my question:

After I collect my 2nd runnings, I have been putting 130 degree water into my grain bed and drawing it off until I get to my desired boil volume. I do this because it both seemed logical and is visibly clear that I am getting a lot of additional sugars that would otherwise be tossed with the spent grain.

Is this a mistake?

I'd very much appreciate your thoughts!

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-30-2010, 04:52 PM   #2
ChshreCat
HBT_SUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 457 Times on 363 Posts
Likes Given: 17

The second sparge isn't bad, but that temp is a bit high. That hot and you can be extracting a lot of tannins from the grain.

edit: misread the temp. Nevermind the temp is too high comment.

Old 11-30-2010, 04:56 PM   #3
JonK331
HBT_SUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 28 Times on 28 Posts
Likes Given: 6

Hmmmm, I was going to say that 130F is low. I always sparge with 175F water.

Old 11-30-2010, 04:59 PM   #4
rockytoptim
HBT_SUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 92 Times on 73 Posts
Likes Given: 3

I thought you didnt have to worry about extracting tannins until you got over 170 Deg F. I ususally sparge with 150 - 160 deg F water and haven't had any issues with extracting tannins.

On Tap: Bee Cave Robust Porter
On Tap: Bee Cave OktoberFest
On Tap: Bee Cave Kolsch
Primary: None
Up next: ????

Old 11-30-2010, 05:00 PM   #5
BigTexun
Recipes 

Liked 3 Times on 2 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by ChshreCat View Post