Ss Brewing Technologies Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > All Grain & Partial Mash Brewing > Reuse Trub?

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-10-2007, 06:22 PM   #1
CivEngPE
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Reuse Trub?

Hello all,
I am relatively new to this and am about to brew my 6th batch and had a question. I ordered an ale kit from AHB about 4 months ago and just never got around to brewing it. I did brew another one this past Sunday and am planning to brew the older kit this coming weekend. Since the White Labs yeast is a little out of date, I want to rack last weeks brew to secondary and then pour my newly brewed wert right on top of the left over trub from the old batch. In addition to this I was going to toss in the out of date yeast for good measure.

Are there any potential problems with doing this?

Thanks for your advice.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-10-2007, 06:40 PM   #2
cubbies
Tastes like butterdirt
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 7 Times on 5 Posts

I wouldnt toss in the other one. There is no point in that. You will be fine pitching on top of the trub...in fact, it will probably take off in a couple of hours.

Old 07-10-2007, 06:40 PM   #3
Yooper
Ale's What Cures You!
HBT_ADMIN.png

Recipes 

Liked 4471 Times on 3253 Posts
Likes Given: 870

No problems at all, but you shouldn't even bother pitching another yeast in it. You'll have so much yeast in the yeast cake that it'll take off like gangbusters. You'd be wasting your vial by adding it too.

Old 07-10-2007, 06:41 PM   #4
bradsul
Flyfisherman/brewer

Recipes 

Liked 22 Times on 20 Posts
Likes Given: 4

No problems at all pitching a fresh brew on a yeast cake, I do it quite frequently. You will want to make sure you have a blow-off tube setup though. It will be a pretty vigorous fermentation for the first few days.