Spike Brewing 12.5 Conical Fermenter Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > All Grain & Partial Mash Brewing > Question for users of cooler tuns

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-11-2011, 04:35 AM   #1
Redpiper
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Question for users of cooler tuns

I just purchased a 10 gallon rubbermaid cooler from Lowe's. I tested 6 gallons in it at 162 degrees for an hour with blankets on top. It ended at 158. I've read that some fill the lid with foam to help heat loss. This may even be better?

My question is, for those of you who've gone that route, are you happy with results? Or should I return this cooler and look into one of those more expensive coolers that make claims about holding temp for long periods of time. If you had it to do all over again, what would you do?

Thanks in advance.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-11-2011, 05:04 AM   #2
Naggs
Recipes 

Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts
Likes Given: 28

I'm no scientist, but I believe you'll get better heat retention when you have 10-13 pounds of grain in there as opposed to just hot water. The grain acts as its own insulation.

Old 12-11-2011, 05:08 AM   #3
muthafuggle
Recipes 

Liked 10 Times on 9 Posts
Likes Given: 8

Quote:
Originally Posted by Naggs
I'm no scientist, but I believe you'll get better heat retention when you have 10-13 pounds of grain in there as opposed to just hot water. The grain acts as its own insulation.
+1 to this. I loose maybe 1 or 2 degrees max on a 60 minute mash with my 10 gallon igloo. Also, pre-heating the tun helps a lot.

"Fat, drunk and stupid is no way to go through life, son"

Primary:
Secondary: Bwa-Ha-Ha!! we don't need no steenking secondary!!
Bottled: 2tun Scotchpocalypse (12.12.12)
Kegged: LH Milk Stout Clone

Old 12-11-2011, 05:13 AM   #4
rednekhippiemotrcyclfreak
Recipes 

Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts
Likes Given: 2