Ss Brewing Technologies Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > All Grain & Partial Mash Brewing > A question to "all grain" brewers

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-14-2013, 05:09 AM   #1
manisfive
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts
Likes Given: 9

Default A question to "all grain" brewers

Hello all. What kind of beers can only be brewed all grain or at least with a large amount of grain? I am an beginner extract brewer and I don't have a drive to jump into all grain. At least not comparable to the drive I had to get into brewing in general. Thanks.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-14-2013, 05:41 AM   #2
olz431
Recipes 

Liked 15 Times on 14 Posts
Likes Given: 15

I may be wrong, but here are the benefits I see to it. #1: its cheaper. #2: you have more control of the beer, ie making it maltier, sweeter, drier etc by controlling the mash temp and variety of grain. #3 its cheaper, and #4, its cheaper.

Mmmmmmm BEER.
Primary 1: Citrarillo IPA
Primary 2: Big Baltic Porter
Primary 3: Full Nelson Pale Ale
Secondary 1/ Primary 4: Rochefort 9
Primary 5:
Bottled: Zombie Dust, Yoopers House Ale, DFH 90 clone, Two Hearted Ale, Dead Guy, Dundalk Irish Heavy

Jayhem Likes This 
Old 03-14-2013, 05:45 AM   #3
hillhousesawdustco
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 35 Times on 34 Posts
Likes Given: 24

You can make nearly any broad style of beer you'd want to with extract and steeping a bit of specialty grain- but you can be much more particular with all grain. Very few people regret going to all grain, but there is certainly no reason to do so if you aren't interested, especially with all the new malt extracts available these days.

Old 03-14-2013, 08:16 AM   #4
woknblues
Recipes 

Liked 70 Times on 46 Posts
Likes Given: 52