Electric Brewing Supply 30A BCS Giveaway!


Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > All Grain & Partial Mash Brewing > Question about double batch sparge
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-10-2014, 03:15 PM   #1
mclaughlindw4
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 220
Liked 7 Times on 6 Posts
Likes Given: 3

Default Question about double batch sparge

I am entering the recipe for reaper's mild into beer smith. I am supposed to do a mash out with 1 gallon, and then a double batch sparge.

Beersmith says to do double batch sparge 1.44 Gal, 3.86 Gal.

Why does it give different volumes for the batch sparges, why not just use equal volumes for both?

__________________
mclaughlindw4 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-10-2014, 03:18 PM   #2
Dolomieu
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Dolomieu's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 739
Liked 59 Times on 52 Posts
Likes Given: 115

Default

I believe there is a check box under the mash profile that will let you set it to equal runnings.

__________________

Draft beer, Not me!!! - Belching Penguin

Dolomieu is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-10-2014, 03:23 PM   #3
Warthaug
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: , Ontario
Posts: 509
Liked 103 Times on 68 Posts
Likes Given: 3

Default

Beersmith gives you equal volumes of runnings, not additions. So your first addition is smaller as your first runnings will be the liquid part of your mash + the first sparge addition. You're second addition is larger as you have drained the mash, so it is effectively "dry".

Bryan

__________________
Brewing: Black Mamba IPA
Drinking: SWIMBO's cider, Hail Brett-tania all-brett porter, African Queen Stout
Upcoming:
Wines: Petit Noir, Liebfraumilch, Shiraz

My blog: Recipes, Wild Yeasts, Yeast Farming, Yeast Exchange & More!
Warthaug is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-10-2014, 03:31 PM   #4
Dolomieu
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Dolomieu's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 739
Liked 59 Times on 52 Posts
Likes Given: 115

Default

Under your recipe, if you go down to "mash" above carbonation. I hit command & right click, it brings up your mash profile info. Under batch sparge options check the box for "use equal batch sizes"

__________________

Draft beer, Not me!!! - Belching Penguin

Dolomieu is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-10-2014, 04:39 PM   #5
Denny
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Eugene OR
Posts: 4,292
Liked 438 Times on 331 Posts
Likes Given: 530

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mclaughlindw4 View Post
I am entering the recipe for reaper's mild into beer smith. I am supposed to do a mash out with 1 gallon, and then a double batch sparge.

Beersmith says to do double batch sparge 1.44 Gal, 3.86 Gal.

Why does it give different volumes for the batch sparges, why not just use equal volumes for both?
Keep in mind that Beersmith is a great tool to help you brew the way you want to brew. But it is NOT instructions about how to brew. You get to decide that for yourself. In batch sparging there is almost never a need for a mashout or a double sparge. Make it easy on yourself.
__________________

Life begins at 60....1.060, that is!

www.dennybrew.com

http://www.experimentalbrew.com - the website for the book "Experimental Homebrewing"...coming Nov. 2014

Denny is offline
chickypad Likes This 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-10-2014, 05:11 PM   #6
chickypad
lupulin shift victim
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
chickypad's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: SF Peninsula
Posts: 2,843
Liked 286 Times on 255 Posts
Likes Given: 127

Default

If batch sparging you also want to check the "drain tun before sparging" on the mash profile page. If you do that and your tun is big enough it will give you the sparge in a single step.

__________________
chickypad is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-10-2014, 05:19 PM   #7
RM-MN
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Solway, MN
Posts: 6,795
Liked 773 Times on 647 Posts
Likes Given: 266

Default

Since you are planning to batch sparge, you can skip the mash out step. Note how much wort you get when you drain the tun. Plan your batch sparge(s) to add just enough water to get to your planned preboil. You can do one or 2 batch sparges and can mix up or match the volumes if you do 2.

__________________
RM-MN is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-10-2014, 06:43 PM   #8
mclaughlindw4
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 220
Liked 7 Times on 6 Posts
Likes Given: 3

Default

So the recipe says

Quote:
mashout with 1 gallon of boiling water and Vorlauf till first runnings are clear. Double batch sparge with 170 degree water to get to pre-boil volume.
I take this to mean to add the one gallon for the mash out, drain, add water and drain (first batch sparge), add water and drain (second batch sparge). This does seem like overkill for a recipe with an OG of 1.036. But I am still quite new so was planning on just following the recipe. Actually though I think I will just do one batch sparge.

I just hadn't really considered mash out and draining the first runnings to be a sparge, but this is what beersmith is doing. So now I get why the numbers are different.

My main reason for asking was because I know I have read some stuff about your sparge volumes should be proportional to your mash volumes or something but I can't remember the details or know if it is that important or not anyways. I though maybe beersmith was taking that into account somehow.
__________________
mclaughlindw4 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-10-2014, 06:44 PM   #9
mclaughlindw4
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 220
Liked 7 Times on 6 Posts
Likes Given: 3

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chickypad View Post
If batch sparging you also want to check the "drain tun before sparging" on the mash profile page. If you do that and your tun is big enough it will give you the sparge in a single step.
Done. Thank you.
__________________
mclaughlindw4 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-10-2014, 06:45 PM   #10
mclaughlindw4
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 220
Liked 7 Times on 6 Posts
Likes Given: 3

Default

All excellent advice. Thanks everyone.

__________________
mclaughlindw4 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply



Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is a double stage batch sparge process better than a single stage batch sparge? msa8967 All Grain & Partial Mash Brewing 26 06-20-2014 12:08 PM
Hello, Double Batch Sparge hoptualBrew All Grain & Partial Mash Brewing 33 08-23-2012 07:30 PM
Double Batch Sparge vs. Single Batch Sparge Armen_Tamzarian All Grain & Partial Mash Brewing 4 09-10-2011 10:02 PM
Double batch sparge water volume question Moody_Copperpot All Grain & Partial Mash Brewing 35 07-13-2011 07:41 PM
Double batch sparge question? squidtpd All Grain & Partial Mash Brewing 6 05-12-2010 01:32 AM