New Giveaway - Wort Monster Conical Fermenter!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > All Grain & Partial Mash Brewing > Protein Rest Question

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-28-2012, 09:53 AM   #1
BIGTEX
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Protein Rest Question

I am planning on brewing a Raspberry Wheat in a couple of weeks and I have been reading up on protein rests for the wheat malt to get my game plan together. I have never done a protein rest before, so here is the question: Is it smarter to do a protein rest on just the wheat malt and add in the rest of the 2-Row and hot water to bring up to saccrification rest temp or to do the protein rest with all the grains at the same time then bring to mash temp? I'm using 5#Rahr White Wheat Malt and just over 4# Rahr 2-Row and want to get the most out of the mash as possible without compromising body. Cheers!

BIG TEX

"I feel sorry for people who don't drink. When they wake up in the morning, that's as good as they're going to feel all day." - Frank Sinatra

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-28-2012, 10:11 AM   #2
mvcorliss
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 12 Times on 11 Posts
Likes Given: 12

I've never heard of doing a protein rest by splitting the grains. You would mash as normal except at a lower temp for period of time, then raise the temp to your normal mash temp for another period of time. (can you tell I'm at work and don't have my books here? You'll have to look up the temp/times.)
That said.... most people (not all) feel that with today's highly modified grains, even wheat, a protein rest is not needed and MOST people (again, not all) would not be able to tell the difference between a well made beer using either method. A lot of REALLY GOOD homebrewers don't feel the extra effort of a step mash is worth it.

That said, Go for it and see what it does for your beer. Let us know how it goes.

Old 04-30-2012, 02:47 PM   #3
pjj2ba