Spike Brewing 12.5 Conical Fermenter Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > All Grain & Partial Mash Brewing > Propane Tank Math Equation

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-15-2009, 04:29 PM   #1
Lodovico
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 10 Times on 7 Posts
Likes Given: 9

Default Propane Tank Math Equation

I'm still a little new to the whole propane tank brewing and I wanted to make sure I understand this. I'm trying to tell how much I have left in my tank.

Here's the info:

I have an Ameri-Gas Tank that says Net Weight- 15 pounds on front of tank

The Tare Weight on the handle of the tank says 17 pounds

I just weighed the tank and it weighs 26 pounds even.

How much propane do I have left??? Thanks!

On Draft: Mild
On Draft: IPA
On Draft: Belgian Pale Ale
In Bottle: Brett Porter
In Bottle: Flanders Red
In Bottle: Oud Bruin
Fermentor: Biere De Garde
Fermentor: Belgian Amber Ale

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-15-2009, 04:50 PM   #2
Catt22
Recipes 

Liked 57 Times on 55 Posts
Likes Given: 51

You have 9 lbs remaining in the tank. The Tare Weight is the empty weight of the container. The net weight is the weight of the contents. In this case your supplier is saying that 15 lbs is what the contents should be for a full tank. Normally, the 20 lb propane tanks hold 20 lbs of propane when full. The exhange places have been playing a shell game lately and only fill the tanks 3/4 full, or 15 lbs. This is a scam IMO. The suppliers claim they are doing this so that they don't have to raise the price. Duh? So, we get screwed out of 25% of the fuel and are required to fill the tanks more frequently. I guess they figure our time and effort are worth nothing to us.

The calculation is simply to subtract the tare weight from the total weight to arrive at the remaining gas weight. ie 26-17=9

It would weigh 32 lbs when filled with 15 lbs and 37 lbs if filled with the max 20 lbs.