Get your HBT Growlers, Shirts and Membership before the Rush!


Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > All Grain & Partial Mash Brewing > Pot size for all grain
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-07-2012, 09:04 PM   #1
beerbro
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 10
Default Pot size for all grain

Hey guys

So I'm still pretty new at the whole thing but I've worked on three batches of beer and all have been partial malt/extract. And I'm about to try the rewarding step up to all grain. I currently have a 32 qt stainless steel pot but will I need a larger one for the switch to all grain?

Thanks

__________________

Good people drink good beer.

beerbro is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-07-2012, 09:09 PM   #2
maffewl
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Cookeville, Tennessee
Posts: 1,083
Liked 19 Times on 18 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

32 will be fine. That's the size I use. You will need to monitor it with a spray bottle, but you are good to go.

__________________

_

Digital Temperature Controller build:
Click Here

Bottle Cutter build:
Click Here

maffewl is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-07-2012, 09:11 PM   #3
NervousDad
BFM
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
NervousDad's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Aurora, Ohio
Posts: 932
Liked 172 Times on 116 Posts
Likes Given: 203

Default

I use a 32 quart kettle. My pre boil volume is 6.75 gallons is close to the top but it works fine.

__________________
NervousDad is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-07-2012, 09:42 PM   #4
djfriesen
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 1,188
Liked 26 Times on 24 Posts
Likes Given: 6

Default

You should be OK, but a 40 qt would be a lot less hassle. If you can contemplate brewing in aluminum, you could probably pick up a 10 gallon pot for pretty cheap. I got one for around $36 bucks or so.

I use that, along with the 30 qt pot from a turkey fryer for brew days. I mash (BIAB) in the smaller pot, in order to minimize headspace during the rest period, and then dunk sparge and boil in the 10 gallon pot. It actually works pretty slick.

Note: I have tried boiling a 5-gallon batch in the 30 qt pot, and I had to fight tooth-and-nail to keep from boiling over. The extra 2 qts might help, but I would think they won't make a huge difference.

__________________
djfriesen is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-07-2012, 09:51 PM   #5
funkswing
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Athens, Georgia
Posts: 488
Liked 10 Times on 10 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

That size pot will work, but it will be cutting it close. I brew 6 gal batches (7.6 gal pre-boil for 90 min boils) to end up with 5 gal in the keg (or bottles).

Here is the pot I use, its on sale right now for a pretty good price ($58 for a 9 gal SS pot):

http://www.overstock.com/Home-Garden...a29ed1b6996745

__________________
Homebrew Blog (Recipes)
funkswing is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-07-2012, 09:53 PM   #6
Yooper
Ale's What Cures You!
HBT_ADMIN.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Yooper's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Upper Michigan
Posts: 62,909
Liked 4954 Times on 3588 Posts
Likes Given: 1002

Default

I used a 30 quart pot for years. It was watched like a hawk until after the hot break, but I could start with 6.25 gallons or so so it worked out well. Fermcap would be a huge help for you with a small pot!

__________________
Broken Leg Brewery
Giving beer a leg to stand on since 2006

Find me on facebook: Lorena Evans
But I'm pretty boring so don't expect much!
https://www.facebook.com/lorena.t.evans
Yooper is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-07-2012, 10:29 PM   #7
rossi46
Senior Member
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
rossi46's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Pasco, WA
Posts: 732
Liked 48 Times on 38 Posts
Likes Given: 5

Default

I have a 32qt pot, and it works. I've had a few boil overs when adding pellets at 60 min.
If I were to do it again, I would have bought a 40qt. my 2 cents.

__________________
rossi46 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-07-2012, 10:47 PM   #8
jsharp3
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 21
Default

I have a 60 quart pot and wouldn't trade it for anything. It is big enough to handle a 10 gallon batch which is really nice if you have friends who keeping raiding your stash. This way you don't have to keep brewing the same "favorite" beer.

__________________
jsharp3 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-08-2012, 03:53 AM   #9
kgoode25
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Clemson, SC
Posts: 4
Default

Fine for 5gal batches, just keep an eye on it.

__________________
kgoode25 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply



Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools




Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS