Happy HolidaySs Giveaway - Winners Re-Re-Re-Re-Re-Drawn - 24 hours to Claim!

Get your HBT Growlers, Shirts and Membership before the Rush!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > All Grain & Partial Mash Brewing > Original Gravity Low for Double IPA

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-23-2012, 12:43 AM   #1
lundy
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Original Gravity Low for Double IPA

So I just finished brewing what was supposed to be a Double IPA and I hit a wall when i saw my original gravity atr 1.056 and i was aiming for 1.108.

I have a had some issues in the past with other beers but not nearly this bad. I am fairly new to all grain brewing but i have had 2 successfull batches before this one where i hit my numbers.

Im not sure if this is an issue with the amount of grain I had, which was 19 lbs.

Any input would be awesome.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-23-2012, 02:25 AM   #2
autiger
Recipes 

Liked 4 Times on 4 Posts

that is way far off, any chance the grain hadn't been crushed?

Old 06-23-2012, 03:16 AM   #3
Jakeintoledo
HBT_SUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 22 Times on 16 Posts
Likes Given: 7

you're leaving a ton of info out. That said, I'd look at the crush for sure. that's the number 1 culprit. how did you come to the target of 1.108?

Old 06-23-2012, 04:23 AM   #4
heckels
Recipes 

Liked 50 Times on 40 Posts

Also, what was your target efficiency? Typically, brewing a beer that big will reduce your efficiency by about 10%.

Old 06-23-2012, 01:32 PM   #5
lundy
Recipes 

The crush should be ok. Ive been using the same mill at the supply store for a while and ive not had a problem, Unless over crushing causes a big issue with loss of sugars.