Happy HolidaySs Giveaway - Winners Re-Re-Drawn - 24 hours to Claim!

Get your HBT Growlers, Shirts and Membership before the Rush!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > All Grain & Partial Mash Brewing > Off Flavors in Darker Beers

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-16-2010, 05:29 PM   #1
ahoffman565
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Off Flavors in Darker Beers

Hello all!

I've been brewing for a few years now and I've mainly stuck with the lighter-colored ales - blonde ales, pale ales, IPAs, etc. However, in each of the 3 darker beers that I've attempted to make (red ale, coffee stout and bock), each had what can be considered a harsh "sweetness" (perhaps even a bitterness) to it. I don't get this with the other "lighter" styles. I had assumed that this was becuase I was mashing at slightly higher temps and this was unfermentable sugar. I've always been careful not to mash higher than 153 or 154. I've even left the batches in the bottle for upwards of 6 weeks and the "flavor" doesn't go away. Has anyone else noticed this? Should anything be done differently process wise when using the darker malts? These have all been partial mash (actually close to quasi-all grain) recipes using anywhere between 5 to 12 pounds of grain. I've also tried to ensure that I ferment low to avoid off flavors from the yeast.

Thanks in advance,
Andrew

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-16-2010, 07:50 PM   #2
Nateo
Recipes 

Liked 38 Times on 30 Posts
Likes Given: 35

What is your water profile? Water treatment (or lack of) could contribute to that.

To paraphrase Dr. England - "Off-flavors smooth with time. So do mountains. Brew it right from the start!"

My blogsite: http://nateobrew.blogspot.com/

Old 09-16-2010, 08:32 PM   #3
ahoffman565
Recipes 

I've actually never messed with my water profile. I use either jugged drinking or spring water from the store and add a teaspoon of the 5.2 mash stabilizer.

Old 09-16-2010, 09:23 PM   #4
Nateo
Recipes