The Great Bottle Opener Giveaway

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > All Grain & Partial Mash Brewing > Oatmeal Stout First Go Question

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-26-2012, 02:46 AM   #1
kramberry20
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Oatmeal Stout First Go Question

I am on my 4th all grain batch and I have decided to try an Oatmeal Stout. My recipe is as follows:
9# 2 row
8 oz Oats
12 oz Chocolate Malt
12 oz roasted barley
1 oz fuggle hops
and irish ale wyeast

My question is when I am fermenting what temperature should this batch be at for the primary and secondary fermentation. Any suggestions will help as I am still new to all grain brewing and only a year into brewing in general.

Thanks

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-26-2012, 11:21 AM   #2
BobC
Recipes 

Liked 6 Times on 6 Posts
Likes Given: 8

Fermentation temperature should be 62-72F.

Primary 1 - Smash 1
Primary 2 - Smash 2
Primary 3 - Belgium Triple
Bottled - Oatmeal Stout, ESB, Belgium Light.

Old 04-27-2012, 03:46 AM   #3
trigger
Recipes 

Liked 4 Times on 4 Posts
Likes Given: 2

What type of mash tun are you using?

I ask because you will probably want to use rice hulls with oats. They are literally the gummiest thing I have ever put in beer.

Personally I would increase the oats to at least 1#, I generally use 1.5# per 5 gal batch to really get that creamy smoothness. Also make sure that they are instant or flaked oats.

What mash temp were you thinking? I mash at 154 for 60 on mine, which is a bit on the dry side, and yours will be even more dry than mine with 0 caramel malts in there.