*Ss Brewing Technologies Giveaway - Enter Now!*

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > All Grain & Partial Mash Brewing > New Pale Ale Recipe

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-15-2013, 03:04 AM   #1
wyobrewer1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 125 Times on 99 Posts
Likes Given: 47

Default New Pale Ale Recipe

I just came up with a recipe for a pale ale that I wanted to get some advice on to see if I could improve. This is my first time creating a recipe and also my first time attempting a partial mash.

5 gallon batch
1 lb wheat malt
1 lb crystal 40
1 lb munich
0.5 lb victory
1.5 lb 2-row
6 lbs light DME

Mash at 152 for 60 minutes

Boil for 60 minutes, adding the DME with about 20 minutes remaining.

Hop schedule.
1 oz Columbus 20 minutes
0.5 oz Amarillo 10 minutes
0.5 oz Centennial 10 minutes
1 oz Columbus 5 minutes
1 oz Centennial 0 minutes
1 oz Cascade 0 minutes

Wyeast 1056.

Any tips or advice would be great. Thanks.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-15-2013, 03:45 AM   #2
eltorrente
Recipes 

Liked 60 Times on 43 Posts
Likes Given: 33

Wow 13 different ingredients for your first recipe - pretty complicated.

Do you not have the capability for mashing all the grains at once? If not - just go, IMO, 8lbs light DME and .5lb - 1lb of crystal40.

Where is the bittering addition? With those hops you listed, I would just add maybe .75oz columbus at the beginning of the boil, and maybe stick to centennial or cascade at the last 10 or 5mins and cascade after flameout. Your adding a bunch of different ones and they're just gonna blend with each other. The less you use, the better you'll be able to tell which adjustments to make in future batches to improve it.

If this is your first recipe on your own, keep things simple - you don't need a bunch of different hops to make it taste awesome.

1056 is great, btw.

Old 01-15-2013, 05:02 AM   #3
wyobrewer1
Recipes