The Great Bottle Opener Giveaway

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > All Grain & Partial Mash Brewing > New Kettle- best way to use it?

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-25-2013, 03:22 PM   #1
jethro55
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 28 Times on 24 Posts
Likes Given: 22

Default New Kettle- best way to use it?

I have a new 10 Gallon Blichmann kettle with the false bottom feature for mash/lauter. My other pot is a 30qt turkey fryer pot that I have been using to brew with for about 6 months. 5 gallons batches are my interest.

I am thinking of using the Blichmann as a mash/lauter tun in a sort of BIAB method. Mashing the correct grain/volume, heating the sparge water in the turkey pot, and then adding the sparge water to the kettle. Then a drain off to the turkey pot.

I have the feeling that I am not thinking this through properly. Can anyone give some pointers on all grain with this set-up?

Civilization begins with Beer !

Primary: nothing in the pipeline at the moment
Secondary: some summer beers are imperative
Bottled: Nut Brown, Listermann's Cream Ale, American Pale Ale, Holiday Ale, HopNog, Honey Malt Cream Ale, Irish Stout, English Brown Ale, BIAB English Ale, India Black Ale, Bengal Juice, BIAB Cherry Wheat on the cherries, Belgian Pale Ale, Island Hefe on Mango, Island Hefe on Apricot (and dang -these are awesome beers)

Next Up: Hop farming

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-25-2013, 03:29 PM   #2
Brulosopher
Recipes 

Liked 198 Times on 164 Posts
Likes Given: 110