Spike Brewing 12.5 Conical Fermenter Giveaway - Enter Now!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > All Grain & Partial Mash Brewing > Need help with a chocolate/chili porter

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-09-2012, 01:56 PM   #1
hopheadva
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Need help with a chocolate/chili porter

Trying to recreate the basic taste of New Belgium's Cocoa Mole, but I've never worked with chili peppers before. Any suggestions on the best way (in the boil, secondary, chopped up vs whole, etc) to get the flavor in there would be most helpful. My recipe is below.

5 gal batch
9# Pale
2# Caramel 80
1# Melanoidin
1/2# Pale Wheat
1# Flaked Oats
1/2# Chocolate malt
3 oz dark chocolate malt
1 oz Target (boil 60min)
2 oz cocoa powder (at flameout)
4 oz cacao nibs (secondary 10days)
Wyeast Denny's Favorite 50
The items I'm adding that I'm unsure how to do are: cinnamon, ancho chili, guajillo chili and chipotle chili

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-09-2012, 02:07 PM   #2
Chuckus95
Recipes 

Liked 102 Times on 54 Posts

My best competition score was a Chocolate/Chili Porter (42 pts). I used BYO's Black Butte Porter clone for the base and then rehydrated chipotle chilis in boiling water, let everything cool, chopped the chilis a bit, and then put the chilis, along with the liquid, into the secondary along with cacoa nibs. I don't have my recipe in front of me so I don't remember the amount of water or peppers that I used, but I will try to remember to check when I get home.

On Deck: Tripel; Smoked Porter; Marzen; Ahtanum/Belma/Columbus IPA

Old 11-09-2012, 02:08 PM   #3
ReverseApacheMaster
Recipes 

Liked 229 Times on 192 Posts

I like the chiles in secondary for more flavor but you can add them at flameout if you prefer. From what I've read, it seems like adding the chiles while the wort is hot gives you more heat and less flavor but adding them in secondary adds more flavor and less heat.

Old 11-09-2012, 05:12 PM   #4
hopheadva