My first mash adventure

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Hagen

Reaction score
I've been steeping grains for some 13 years, and have been pleased with my results. But I decided that it was time to take a step up. My kitchen is small, so for now I am going to do partial mashes.

It's a small setup, and I'm sorry for not taking pics, was too excited to get going. I installed a valve in my old 16qt pot as an HLT, and use a 3gal Rubbermaid cooler with a false bottom I made out of an unused pot lid. It all fits quite nicely on the stove, chair and floor. It seems to handle 7lbs of grain well enough.

So here's what I started with:
5 lb. American 2-row
8 oz. British Munich
8 oz. American crystal 20L
8 oz. American crystal 60L
4 oz. Belgian Special B

4 lb. Light dry malt extract

1 oz. Cluster (7.9% AA, 60 min.)
1 oz. Challenger (6.3% AA, 30 min.)
1 oz. Hallertauer (aroma)

I calculated my strike temp at 167*F and after dough in was at 155*F, 1* above target, not too bad. From eyeballing it, I'd say I got a ratio of 1.3qt/lb. I let it go for 45 minutes, stirring it up every 15 min. After 45 min, the iodine showed complete conversion, and I commenced with the sparge. Sparge water 170*F

Apparently, the holes I drilled in my false bottom are a little on the large side and it took recirculating a little more than 3 qts before I was clear enough to sparge. I decided to go with a fly sparge. The sparge went without a hitch. My last hydro reading as I reached my boil limit of 4.5 gallons was 1.002 before adjusting for the 163*F temp. So my last runnings were around 1.016. So, I didn't get all I could, but OK for the first time.