Happy HolidaySs Giveaway - Winners Re-Re-Re-Re-Drawn - 24 hours to Claim!

Get your HBT Growlers, Shirts and Membership before the Rush!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > All Grain & Partial Mash Brewing > My APA tastes like a Belgian Pale Ale

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-01-2012, 01:17 PM   #1
mychalg9
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 4 Times on 4 Posts

Default My APA tastes like a Belgian Pale Ale

I was drinking a Green Flash Rayon Vert yesterday and realized that the "off" flavors I've been getting in my pale ale tasted almost exactly like this belgian pale ale style. Any ideas what would cause my APA recipe to taste like that? If I recall, the recipe was a SMASH with 2 row and cascade hops, not sure if I used Notty yeast or US-05 for it but if I had to guess it was probably Notty. Any ideas?

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-01-2012, 01:20 PM   #2
mewellsar
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

I'm no expert, but I was asking the same thing a few weeks ago. I think my fermentation happened too hot/too fast.

Slowed my next batch down with the swamp cooler technique. Not finished yet, but I measured and sampled before dry hop and things seem better.

Old 05-01-2012, 01:31 PM   #3
duckmanco
Recipes 

Liked 22 Times on 22 Posts
Likes Given: 19

Bet you used us05. I've had this happen to me twice with us05 at low temps - almost a Belgian phenolic yeast character that I could not place. I'm conducting "experiments" with us05 and hoping to get better results at higher temps with it, especially because when us05 is on its great. I'm just having issues getting it to be consistent in my brew house.

Old 05-01-2012, 06:00 PM   #4
mychalg9
Recipes 

Liked 4 Times on 4 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by duckmanco View Post