Ss Brewing Technologies Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > All Grain & Partial Mash Brewing > Munich Light discription please???

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-20-2009, 03:07 AM   #1
MVKTR2
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 19 Times on 18 Posts
Likes Given: 18

Default Munich Light discription please???

I''ve ordered the ingredients for my next 2 brews, one of which is a Rye Blonde. Planned grain bill is
6# 2-row
3# Rye malt
2# Light Munich
.5# Crystal 20
.25# Flaked Wheat

I've never used munich before. I understand it can be used as a base-malt, but some websites have it listed as a color malt. Also I see alot of recipes with 1# or so of munich. Is there a chance 2# munich is too much? What is the real flavor profile and strength of Munich malt? As I understand it's a slightly more toasted base malt, bringing in drier maltier character too the party.

Thanks in advance for the input.

Schlante,
Phillip

"Perhaps wisdom for me is understanding how truely small I am, and that there is no smug self centered moment of clarity when there is so much more to learn" Anthony Bourdain

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-20-2009, 04:07 AM   #2
Jack
Recipes 

Liked 4 Times on 3 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Two pounds of munich isn't excessive in my opinion, but it's all about the percent of your grain bill. Munich is one of my favorite malts (just the smell of the malt is pretty awesome). It mainly contributes strong malty flavors. Munich comes in two varieties usually: light and dark. Light is usually around 10°L while dark is 20°L. The lighter variety has more diastatic power and less roasted character than dark. It also contributes less amber color.

Old 04-20-2009, 04:20 AM   #3
nutcase
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts