Spike Brewing 12.5 Conical Fermenter Giveaway - Enter Now!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > All Grain & Partial Mash Brewing > Missed my OG big time

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-21-2013, 10:48 PM   #1
Hellfire_Ales
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Missed my OG big time

Im relatively new to all grain, less than 10 batches or so. I stopped brewing for a couple of years and just got back into it a year ago. Ive done 4 batches since then and all buy one of those the OG reading has been really low. I just brewed a pumpkin ale today, with 12.5 lbs of Briess pale malt, .5 lbs of crystal 60, and .5 lbs carapils 20. My og before i pitched only got to 1.040. I was hoping for a bigger number than that. What did i do wrong? Can i add anything before i pitch to help bring up the final ABV? I need help!

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-21-2013, 11:12 PM   #2
duboman
Recipes 

Liked 461 Times on 428 Posts
Likes Given: 209

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hellfire_Ales
Im relatively new to all grain, less than 10 batches or so. I stopped brewing for a couple of years and just got back into it a year ago. Ive done 4 batches since then and all buy one of those the OG reading has been really low. I just brewed a pumpkin ale today, with 12.5 lbs of Briess pale malt, .5 lbs of crystal 60, and .5 lbs carapils 20. My og before i pitched only got to 1.040. I was hoping for a bigger number than that. What did i do wrong? Can i add anything before i pitch to help bring up the final ABV? I need help!
Did you correct your reading for temperature? Was the temp below 100 at sample? Is your hydrometer calibrated/refractometer?

1 pound of DME will add .009 gravity points to a 5 gallon batch. You can also boil longer, you'll get less beer at a higher gravity.

The Commune Brewing Company-Perfecting the "art" of beer since 2010

Old 09-21-2013, 11:17 PM   #3
Hellfire_Ales
Recipes