Happy HolidaySs Giveaway - Winners Re-Re-Re-Re-Drawn - 24 hours to Claim!

Get your HBT Growlers, Shirts and Membership before the Rush!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > All Grain & Partial Mash Brewing > Maximizing Efficiency when Batch Sparging

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-16-2012, 01:41 AM   #131
wt2
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

I am kinda new at the brewing, I started out from ground zero. Each batch I change one component and they are getting much better. One thing I do that might be relevant to the conversation is place hole grain around my drainage system and I flip it upside down so the finer particles don't clog it. This has been working pretty well. I have a grinder that I reconditioned from an old wall hanger. In short, I can set it very fine and course but the in between will vary a bunch. It seems to work out good because on my last batch of mash out I was about 1.042 sg. The down fall came when I sparged it and brought it way down. I had to add some corn sugar in the boil to increase the sg. I am thinking next time of not sparging and just using more grain along with more water in the wort. Any thoughts?

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-16-2012, 02:27 AM   #132
MalFet
/bɪər nərd/
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 1 reviews

Recipes 

Liked 1270 Times on 845 Posts
Likes Given: 584

Quote:
Originally Posted by firebirdude View Post
But what harm would come from allowing the sparge water to soak for even 15 minutes? If any starches have not fully converted to sugars, this may give that last 5% of them the opportunity to do so. Additionally, holding the sparge water in place for at least a few minutes might help ensure it has a chance to touch every bit of the grain, rather than begin to channel or miss one particular spot. It just seems like only good things could come from giving the sparge water some time.