Kegconnection Complete Starter Kit and More Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > All Grain & Partial Mash Brewing > Mashing with a propane burner

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-07-2010, 12:56 PM   #1
dinokath
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default Mashing with a propane burner

Hi all,

Been reading these forums for a while. Great info! Thanks for having this site!

I have been doing the all grain brewing for a couple years now. I do single step mashing and batch sparging with mixed results. Sometimes efficiency is good, sometimes not so good. I wanted to think about perhaps fly sparging and multiple step mashing.

My question is if I decide to use my keggle to do the mash, does anyone here worry about the intense heat at the bottom of the keggle from the burner? I was also perhaps thinking about going electric and installing an element from a water heater or something like that. Same question there. I have read and read and it doesnt seem to be a concern. Is there something I am missing? I hate to ask such a noob question and a basic one at that, but I can't seem to find anyone referring to it, so perhaps it isn't an issue and more an issue of my worrying about nothing!

Thanks in advance!

Dean

My worst recurring nightmare - a power outtage and my lagering fridge gets warms....

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-07-2010, 01:03 PM   #2
Suthrncomfrt1884
Recipes 

Liked 23 Times on 22 Posts
Likes Given: 3

There's a chance of scorching your wort, but not a big one. Most people hook up a pump and recirculate the wort so it doesn't have time to scorch.

Another HERMS rig...

Old 10-07-2010, 01:09 PM   #3
dinokath
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Thanks SoCo.

A question about the use of a pump during mash. I thought the grain bed was supposed to be given a chance to settle so you can create a nice filter. Wouldn't a pump stop that from happening?