Electric Brewing Supply 30A BCS Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > All Grain & Partial Mash Brewing > mashing in a polarware brewpot

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-16-2007, 12:48 PM   #1
glorifiedbusdriver
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default mashing in a polarware brewpot

My wife bought me (I guess that means I bought myself) a 10 gallon polarware kettle with spigot. I have never done ag before but I figure I will try to just mash in this pot. I also bought the false bottom.
I have read in numerous places that mashing in kettles tend to have more problems with temperature control. For those of you who mash in one of these kettles, how much of a temperature drop do you normally see over a period of time? Can anyone give me a good technique with temperature control? If the temperature is dropping, how high and how long should I turn the burner on? Thanks for anyone's input.

-glorifiedbusdriver

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-16-2007, 01:10 PM   #2
Zymurgrafi

Recipes 

Liked 10 Times on 10 Posts

If you really want to mash in this kettle there is another way. Make a jacket for the kettle out of some sort of isulating material. I have been experimenting with this with different vessels with good results. Considering a cooler is only lined with styrofoam it is not too hard to duplicate. I had a big box of styrofoam sheets (thin) in my basement so I used that with duct tape and pieced it together. Made about an 1.5" thick jacket. Holds heat well for normal mash time. I have also used a foam camping pad, "space blanket", etc...

After you make it, test it by boiling water. Slip the jacket on and hold it for an hour checking the temp as often as you would stir.

Once you have it to your liking you are ready to mash. Heat you water and grains to temp. Remove from heat and slip on the jacket...

Mash away.

sláinte!

Bristle Bros. Brewing

Old 04-16-2007, 01:22 PM   #3
zoebisch01

Recipes 

Liked 7 Times on 7 Posts

Quote: